District Wide Fundraising

On August 10, 2011 the Santa Monica Board of Education asked the Superintendent to research and develop a policy that requires that our school district fundraise for personnel (teaching assistants, art, music, literacy teachers etc.) and professional development district-wide rather than school-by-school via PTAs and Booster Clubs.

After meeting with Board Members over the past 6 weeks, Rooseveltís Executive PTA and Booster Club determined that this plan was likely to be approved by the School Board members. †Rooseveltís Executive PTA and Booster Club prepared a statement and key requirements of implementation for our approval of the District-wide fundraising plan. Grant and Franklinís PTA Executive Boards and Booster Club leaders have joined, Roosevelt in signing on to the†Coalition Statement and Implementation Plan.

On November 3, 2011 the Superintendent made a presentation to the Board of Ed recommending that SMMUSD move towards a District-wide fundraising model over the next 1.5 years.† She recommended that the Santa Monica Education Foundation become the vehicle for all fundraising for personnel and professional development for our local schools and that no PTA or Booster Club be allowed to accept over $2,500 from a corporate donor beginning in January 2012. †Those of us who attended the meeting felt that all 5 Board members in attendance signaled their support for the concept of District-wide fundraising.

To read the draft gift policy go to pages of 59 ñ 61 of the Boardís agenda:

http://www.smmusd.org/brd1112/agn110311.pdf

To read the Superintendentís presentation go to http://www.smmusd.org/brd1112/DistrictwideFundraising.pdf.

Click to read the Roosevelt, Franklin & Grant Coalition Statement

Click here to read the Grant Parent Flier

Click here to read the Report on Equity by Pardee RAND Graduate School

Click here to read the SARC Report

The next School Board meeting is scheduled for November 17 at the District offices in Santa Monica.† We hope that Grant parents will come to support the Executive PTAís ìCoalition Statementî and/or to express their own views on this subject.

The Grant School PTA and Booster Club strongly encourages parents to write to the School Board members and the Superintendent expressing support for the attached position.

The Board Members contact information is as follows:

Ben Allen††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ballen@smmusd.org

Oscar de la Torre††††††††††††††††† odelatorre@smmusd.org

Jose Escarce†††††††††††††††††††††††††† jescarce@smmusd.org

Maria Leon-Vazquez†††††††††††† mlvazquez@smmusd.org

Laurie Lieberman†††††††††††††††† llieberman@smmusd.org

Nimish Patel†††††††††††††††††††††††††† npatel@smmusd.org

Superintendent Lyons††††††††† slyons@smmusd.org

Questions? Kim Moran president@grantpta.org or†Dan Kolhoff dankolhoff@yahoo.com or Elizabeth Kruis eekruis@verizon.net